In an update to their blog article on Sites, Google announced today that they are stepping up the timeline for the transition from Classic Google Sites to New Google Sites. So what does this mean?
- In early 2018, GSuite Admins will have access to features allowing site owners to migrate content.
- Later in 2018, Site Owners will gain access to these features.
- Retirement of Classic Google Sites will last through 2018.
- At the end of that period, Classic Sites that have not migrated will be saved as a Takeout Archive.
If you have not started using the New Google Sites, you can see an overview here:
Some key features include:
- Ability to Embed URLs
- Nested Pages
- Site Search
- Ability to restrict access
- Domain Mapping – Limited at this time
I had students use the New Sites to create a writing portfolio – they look great, but we ran into a problem. They shared the sites with me and I was unable to ‘view’ their ‘pages’ until they ‘shared’ every single page, individually with me. Is there any way to avoid having to do this? If they want to share the portfolio with someone else, do they have to then ‘share’ every individual ‘page’ with that person as well? Seems like we are doing something wrong. Suggestions?
If they share the site with you, then you can view published pages. They can also set you as an editor. If they have published any Google Docs on their site, they must also share those with you or set the sharing settings so that “anyone with the link can view”.
If they would prefer not to share individual documents, one at a time, have them place all the docs in a shared folder with the settings described above. The documents will inherit those sharing rights.
[…] Migrating from Classic to New Google Sites – The Techy Coach […]